The Society female sale consisting of in lamb hogget ewes and maiden ewe lambs consigned by society members was held on Saturday October 24th at Tullow Livestock Mart, Co. Carlow. The sale was preceded by a show judged by Mr. James Murphy, Saddle Hill flock, Co. Kilkenny. The first class judged were the hogget ewes were the first and second placings were from Co. Cork. First prize and later claiming Supreme Champion was from the Bawnard flock of Jim & Fram Jeffery, Midleton selling for €800. Second placed was from the Awbeg flock of Eddie & Sheena McCarthy, Buttevant selling for €810, third and fourth from the RH flock of Michael Higgins Athenry, Co. Galway selling for €580 and €760, fifth from the Jeffery brothers €800 and sixth Joe Nolan, Feenagh, Co. Carlow, Kilconnor flock selling for €450. There was a lively steady trade for the hoggets which were of a high quality with a 90% clearance selling to an average of €560.

Next class were the ewe lambs where Frank Barrett, Blackhill flock Dunlavin, Co. Wicklow, took first prize and overall Reserve Supreme with a classy ewe lamb selling for €580 and he also had the fourth placed lamb sold for €400. June Harpur, Haggard flock Bannow, Co. Wexford exhibited the second prize ewe lamb later sold for €500. In third place was Kieran Forde, Blakeney flock, Ballinasloe, Co. Galway selling for €500, with Kevin Brady, Killurin flock Killeigh, Co. Offaly in fifth sold for €360. Willie Gleeson, Wexfo flock New Ross, Co. Wexford in sixth selling for €300. The ewe lambs had an 80% clearance to average €370. There were buyers who bought multiple lots and will be joining the society, as well as established breeders adding to their blood lines.


L-R Supreme Champion owned by Fram & Jim Jeffery, Reserve Supreme owned by Frank Barrett. Judge Mr. James Murphy.


L-R Supreme Champion owned by Jim & Frampton Jeffery, Reserve Supreme Champion owned by Frank Barrett, shown by Richard Allen with judge Mr. James Murphy.


Hogget Ew Class Winners
Hogget Ewe Class Winners L-R Fram Jeffery, Eddie McCarthy, Michael Higgins, Michael Higgins, Jim Jeffery & Joe Nolan.


Hogget Ewe Class

 OwnerPedigree IdentitySire
1Jim & Fram JefferyD32-14-090Logie Durno Real McCoy
2Eddie & Sheena McCarthyC71-14-014Island Navaho
3Michael HigginsD73-14-003Kilbarry Maximum
4Michael HigginsD73-14-006Kilbarry Maximum
5Jim & Fram JefferyD32-14-088Bawnard the Beast
6Joe NolanH1-14-035Lisfuncheon Drico


Ewe Lamb Class

 OwnerPedigree IdentitySire
1Frank & Joan BarrettD29-15-013Cloghala Gold
2June HarpurC75-15-046Duisce Lachlan
3Kieran FordeD56-15-001Kilbarry Plunkett
4Frank & Joan BarrettD29-15-027Lisfuncheon Kid
5Kevin BradyF91-15-022Lisfuncheon Star
6William GleesonF62-15-025Lisfuncheon Mississippi